3 Frugal Wins and 1 Frugal Fail

Follow The Earnest Addiction by subscribing at the bottom of the page!

~~~~~~

Inspired by my favourite Youtube Vlogger, Budget Girl, I’m starting a new weekly series. At the end of every week I’ll be sharing my Frugal Wins and Fails that happened during the week with you.

 

THREE FRUGAL WINS!

ONE: I brought my lunch to work 4 times this week!

A couple of weeks ago I decided I needed to get back into shape after half my wardrobe *magically* shrunk – a result of skipping the gym for a month and eating terribly.

I’ve been making roast chicken and roast veggies for lunch but starting to venture out to other healthy options.

1-holly-exley-feast.jpg
Image credit to Holly Exley

TWO: Went to the gym 3 times this week

It’s so easy to start skipping the gym and especially after a long, draining day at work the last thing I feel like doing is being beaten up in my martial arts class. Before I knew it I had missed class for over a month and started to gain a lot of weight.

This week I’ve been forcing myself to go to the gym even though I really don’t want to, knowing that after I’ve finished class I’ll feel fantastic.

THREE: I sold something on eBay!

I sold an old jacket on eBay! I’ve been slowly posting my unwanted clothes up on eBay and minimising my wardrobe and possessions to things I love, get value from and are good quality. Sales have been slow and I’m realising my fast fashion impulse purchases hold little to no value after they leave the shop floor.

abcfa678b5c086b8c3ec89b24ec944d6
Image credit to The Lust List

 

ONE FRUGAL FAIL 😦

ONE: I learned that I am NOT a green thumb

Half of my herb garden which I bought last week is slowly dying. Turns out I’ve been overwatering them, causing the coriander to go from perky and green to shrivelled and dying within days.

Screen-Shot-2015-05-22-at-22.32.43_800
Image credit to Holly Exley

 

 

What have your week’s frugal wins and fails been?

 

xx Miss Piggy

 

 

Cover illustration by Blair A. Breitenstein

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Oinkabella says:

    Yay for weekly updates, Miss Piggy! I thought of your blog this morning when I snipped in half my deceptively “empty” primer only to discover several more uses stuck all on the inside walls, unable to be squeezed through the stupid hole at the end! Lesson: snip those tubes! Don’t be dismayed, keep going with your herb garden – give a light water once a week (touch the soil to measure dampness), ensure it can be well-drained and let them they enjoy some sunlight.

  2. Miss Piggy says:

    Wow what great savings on dog medication and insurance! well done!

  3. Or it is a win because you’ve learned something? 😄
    Major frugal fail for me was forgetting to cancel a hotel reservation in time. They charged us for it–but they are letting us stay there another night. So I may count it as a half-fail.
    Win: switching our insurance company is going to save us a lot
    Win: I found my dogs meds online for $35-55 less a month.
    Love this idea–may have to steal!!

Leave a Reply

