Mid Year Check-in: Have I achieved any of my financial New Year’s resolutions?

Follow The Earnest Addiction by subscribing at the bottom of the page!

~~~~~~

Where did the year go? Can you believe that it’s already halfway through the year!?

almost-half-way-through-2017-and-l-lost-no-weight-23795432.png

I wanted to take this time to check in with you and see what progress I’ve made towards my New Year resolutions. When I started this blog not long before Christmas and New Year, my finances and spending were pretty dismal. While I still have negative net worth, I don’t think I would have made as much progress if I hadn’t had to be accountable to my readers and myself through this blog.

Back in December 2016, I wrote a New Years Resolution post outlining what value I wanted my assets to be by the end of December 2017. My goals were:

  • $12,000 shares
  • $2,000 bullion
  • $6,000 cash
  • $16,200 super in 2016 + $7,300 super contributions in 2017 = $23,500 total superannuation
  • Total assets by end of the year: $43,500

 

I started recording my net worth in December 2016. At the time of writing, I had -$21,329 net worth. If I add my $1,340 apartment bond into this, my net worth was -$19,989.

Screen Shot 2016-12-27 at 11.18.51 pm.png

By the end of June 2017, my net worth have increased by $11,500 to -$8,435!! For all other net worth posts, click here.

Screen Shot 2017-07-01 at 5.06.43 pm.png

 

 

So far, I have achieved:

  • $12,000 shares $6,631 of shares + $6,703 cash in shares account = $13,334. 111% achieved!
  • $2,000 bullion $1,774 of bullion. 89% achieved!
  • $6,000 cash $1340 bond + $1602 cash = $2,942. 49% achieved! However, I am aiming to have a separate ’emergency fund’ which does not fluctuate by bill payments or discretionary spending.
  • $23,500 superannuation $23,044 superannuation. 98% achieved!
  • Total assets by end of the year: $43,500 $41,093 total assets! 94% achieved!!

 

Having almost achieved all my financial goals at the halfway point of the year have really shown that small, consistent steps towards being more conscious with spending have accumulated to have big financial gains.

 

My goal for the remaining 6 months of the year is to keep this slow and steady pace up; consistent savings, careful spending that focuses on value and further investment into the share market.

 

Did you make any New Year resolutions? If yes, what were they and have you made any progress towards your goals?

 

xx Miss Piggy

Cover illustration by Floyd Grey

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Miss Piggy says:

    Thanks Cath! No I don’t draw them however I credit all fashion illustrators in my posts. If you’re interested in looking up the artists just click through any post with imagery you like 🙂

  2. Nice progress on your goals. I really love the imagery on your blog. Do you draw them yourself?

  3. Great update! Glad you have a long-term vision and are thinking about building net worth as a marathon not a sprint.

Leave a Reply

