June EOFY Net Worth & Spending: -$8,435 NW

Follow The Earnest Addiction by subscribing at the bottom of the page!

~~~~~~

I am SO excited to write this post, you guys have no idea. End of Financial Year has come – the Christmas of personal finance!

To see how previous months spending and net worth is, click here.

635864106674787889819107592_glasses 1.gif

 

This has been my most anticipated post this month and I couldn’t wait to close the books and see the progress. The 30th June marks the end of the financial year, half way mark of the calendar year and the close of the month which saw a big improvement in changing my mentality towards spending and understanding which direction I want to go in my career.

 

There were some BIG frugal wins this month:

tumblr_mz3oegeWeM1s5os6do1_500.gif
That feeling when your eBay sales income comes in

 

… and a few frugal fails!

  • Paid $18 interest in bank overdraft and ATM due to an overspend post May holidays. Frugal people aren’t meant to pay interest! Naught naughty.
  • Barely went to the gym this month due to zero motivation, yet paid full gym membership fees. Fail!
  • Weather became very cold/ I was regularly running late to work/feeling lazy and took public transport to work instead of walking 30 minutes so spent more on public transport than normal and didn’t get any exercise.

 

Where did all my money go this month? Let’s find out!

giphy.gif

Screen Shot 2017-07-01 at 5.08.29 pm.png

Screen Shot 2017-07-01 at 5.10.51 pm.png

To sum up this months spending, I spent an average amount eating out and almost all spending was on catchups over brunch and work farewells. Most days I brought lunch to work so when I did go out for lunch at work I made the most of it. I’d prefer to cut down this section further however and put more of my spending towards high quality, designer clothes. I spent $525 in clothes this month however made $286 in profit from selling clothes online so spending closed on $238 – bargain!

 

And now it’s Net Worth time!

And, my net worth has increased! I forgot to add in my bond for my rental which I expect to get back, so this has bumped up my net worth. Superannuation contributions increased but my share portfolio gains were flat. Overall, winning!

Screen Shot 2017-07-01 at 5.07.00 pm.png

Screen Shot 2017-07-01 at 5.06.43 pm.png

It’s great seeing the positive impact of small lifestyle changes on my net worth. In 8 months, I’ve increased by net worth by more than $11,000!

 

How did your June and financial year go? Did you overspend or underspend on your budget? What areas of spending are you wanting to change? Post your comments below!

 

xx Miss Piggy

Cover illustration by Kelly Smith

 

 

 

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Miss Piggy says:

    Im a fan of Grana swimwear – similar to COS and very minimal. Haha you did enable me to shop! I’m addicted now! Consignment is a whole new world for me!

  2. luxestrategist says:

    Yes, we have COS here. I like their swimwear designs a lot. Oh no, did I enable you to shop? #sorrynotsorry

  3. Miss Piggy says:

    Thanks Luxe! I bought a few things from ASOS and a store called COS (not sure if you have it in NY?). And then this month had a Real Real splurge after seeing he link either on your blog or another blogger’s. Quality is amazing!! No not on Insta :/ just the blog atm!

  4. luxestrategist says:

    Hey! That John Travolta GIF made me lol…

    Congrats on the net worth increase! You’ll be in the black by the end of the year, no doubt!

    Also, what are these clothes you bought? ;p Are you on Instagram?

  5. Miss Piggy says:

    I know.. it is an expensive gym! An expense I’ve been thinking about a lot and how to potentially cut down the expense but get the same value.

    And felt so good getting money from eBay sales! Though is a reminder of how hard it is to earn money and that it should be valued! Good luck for your sales! I’ve also heard Facebook marketplace is good to for selling bits and bobs.

  6. Woahhhh that’s an expensive gym!

    Great job on your eBay sales! I’m putting up some items today and I’m hoping they sell 🙂

  7. Miss Piggy says:

    Also, congrats on your penny-wise month as well! Great end to the financial year! xx

  8. Miss Piggy says:

    Thank you!! It’s so rewarding seeing hard work pay off!

  9. Great work. I have had a great month money wise too. Keep up the great work on being your own Sugar Mamma!!

Leave a Reply

