May Net Worth & Spending: -$11,804 NW

What a rollercoaster of a month! From travelling through tropical jungles to having a work/life crisis and feeling directionless to having an epiphany to becoming career-driven again and direction-FULL. Good thing I’m a woman because I don’t think any man could manage all those emotional ups and downs and come out alive (and sane).

 

I reached some big milestones and achievements this month:

  • Started reading Financial Independence classic ‘Your Money or Your Life’ by Vicki Robin and Joe Dominguez. They drill down the mental, financial and lifestyle benefits of being financially independent and turn your money beliefs upside down. Enlightening and insightful!
  • Went on an overseas holiday with Mr. Piggybanks for the first time in 3 years
  • Excluding holiday travel expenses, month expenses were below $2,800. Lowest ever!
  • Made $68 selling bits and bobs on eBay
  • Negative net worth continues to inch closer to zero!
  • Started to up-skill and further educate myself further to help my career. I don’t know what the future holds for me but for the first time I think I’m ok with with just going with the flow and seeing where I end up (which is very unlike me!).
16265840_10211121828256998_366097419089983637_n.jpg
About as forward looking I am right now

And had a Frugal Fail:

  • In the past 7 months my student debt hasn’t dropped although I’m paying back portions in each paycheque. Need to follow up with the government on this one…
15966109_1106791916114207_6820549580648712056_n.jpg
Story of every student’s life

 

And now it’s time to break the monthly spend and net worth right dowwwwwnnnnn:

To read about my previous month’s expenses and net worth, click here.

Screen Shot 2017-05-31 at 9.45.17 pm.png

Screen Shot 2017-05-31 at 9.53.06 pm.png

Screen Shot 2017-05-31 at 9.53.27 pm.png

There was a little bit of travel spending money carry-over as Mr. Piggybanks and my holiday ended in early May. Dining and cocktail expenses were moderate and I had great times catching up with friends and no terrible hangovers after the many social events, so there’s no red flag there.

I spent $232 on a good quality wool coat from COS, however this came down to $164 after receiving $68 in income from eBay sales of unwanted clothes from my wardrobe clean out earlier this month.

 

Screen Shot 2017-05-31 at 10.17.22 pm.pngScreen Shot 2017-05-31 at 10.17.32 pm.png

To finish off a great month, my net worth jumped up $2,000 since the previous month and has jumped $9,500 since November last year! While my student loan hasn’t changed for 7 months (suspicious…), my assets have increased due to increased savings.

Going into June, there will be no travel expenses and no travel planned. My focus is on minimising and downsizing – no better time than the present given that a freezing winter has finally come and there’s no incentive to go outside!

 

How did your May spending go? Have any tips for minimising expenses and maximising income/assets?

I’ve love to hear your comments to post them below and don’t forget to subscribe for post updates!

 

 

xx Miss Piggy

Cover illustration by Judith van der Hoek

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Miss Piggy says:

    Thanks Mel for stopping by my blog and having a read of my articles! I’m glad you like the fashion illustrations!

  2. Mel says:

    Congratulations on your progress, and good on you for starting young.

    I especially like the illustrations used in your blog, they show that Finance blogs can look very aesthetic instead of looking boring (well, most are) 🙂

Leave a Reply

