April Net Worth & Spending: -$13,817 NW

The April Net Worth & Spending monthly update is finally here! Better late than never right? Right?

Mid-April was the beginning of my annual leave which continued into early May, so the bulk of my travel expenses as well as pre-travel work-stress shopping spree fell into this month.

parks-treatyoself.gif

It was a splurgy month and I gave in to retail therapy to easy my pent-up work stress and frustration. However, everything I did buy was either useful for my travels or good quality basics which I had my eye on for a long time, so as much as it was splurgy, it was not that impulsive!

I-cant-deal-seeing-her.gif

 

And now for the Net Worth and Expenses detail! Let’s break it down!

Want to see how other months went first? Click here to see the progress!

Screen Shot 2017-05-15 at 10.01.13 pm.png

Screen Shot 2017-05-15 at 9.59.00 pm.png

Screen Shot 2017-05-15 at 9.59.40 pm.png

All holiday expenses were lumped into the travel category. International and domestic flights, travel insurance and pre-trip travel medical expenses made up the bulk of the expenses, with unexpectedly high medical costs for vaccinations and medication. Unlucky for me, I ended up being the nurses pin-cushion and still need to go back for more prodding and poking 😦

Removing travel expenses for both March and April expenses totalled about $3,500 – in line with the average monthly expenses for the past 6 months.

Clothing was the highest ever, however this month I decided to invest in quality basic pieces which I didn’t have and expect them to last many years to come. While still ‘high street’ opposed to ‘high end’, the pieces I bought included verrry comfortable leather low-heel black ankle boots, leggings, leather ballet flats, 2 100% silk t-shirts and a simple black silky dress. This month (May) I’ve cleared out my wardrobe so expect to make a bit of money selling bits and pieces on eBay which I can use to reimburse the expenses.

Screen Shot 2017-05-15 at 10.24.19 pm.pngScreen Shot 2017-05-15 at 10.23.57 pm

Most surprising of all this month was that my net worth increased due to superannuation payments! After all the holiday and shopping expenses it actually increased! *high five*

a4c75869d223aa90129ab6c89646ac34.gif

So there are the hard numbers. What’s next for May? Save, save, save. Holidays are now over and I’m feeling much more refreshed and focused. Less urgency to impulse shop my life away. On top of that I’m much more appreciative and how lucky I am here in Sydney compared to other places around the world. It’s time to start saving and building my future!

 

xx Miss Piggy

Cover illustration by Judith van den Hoek

Leave a Reply

