The Importance of F***-You Money

Ever wake up and realise suddenly a quarter of the year has already gone and you’ve done nothing but eat, sleep, work, repeat?

 

The other day I came across the ‘Simples’ Series on ‘The Minimalists’ Youtube channel which animates and narrates the way monotony and conformity creates staleness within our lives. It’s about how we put off all the things we have wanted to do but never found the time, and then realise that years have gone by and we haven’t even attempted anything on our ‘Someday I want to…’ list.

Like the ‘Someday’ guy, most of my time is taken away due to ‘busyness’, work’ and ‘meetings’. Even thinking of the forthcoming work week on Sundays takes up my valuable time. I’ve found that as I push aside the things on my ‘Someday’ list for my ‘Work that pays bills’ list, ‘Someday’ never comes.

 

Especially in the lead up to my annual leave, I was becoming increasingly frustrated with work and my boss, and the only thing I could think of was ‘if only I had FU money so I could do everything on my Someday list’.

 

My thoughts were along the lines of:

Don’t like your boss? FU. Being made redundant? FU! Want to take annual leave longer than two weeks but not allowed? No worries, because I can F-Off and FU right back.

Then I meandered back to my grey cubicle to give my excel sheets hours of attention and a little bit of my soul.

 

 

Now that I’m on annual leave and I’m getting a good taste of what being financially independent would be like and have the time to tick off things off my ‘Someday’ list. Things like trying a yoga class, learning to meditate, writing more blog posts, starting sewing again, or staying in all day and reading a book with a warn cup of tea.

 

FU money gives you the freedom to choose instead of being trapped or stuck. You have complete control of how each day will look like and exactly what you want to focus your time and energy on.

 

Pair that with the proactiveness to cross things off your ‘Someday’ list and you’re on your way out of the daily grind and into a life that is created and designed by you.

 

xx Miss Piggy

 

Cover illustration by Megan Hess

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Miss Piggy says:

    Thanks for the follow! Your style is pretty rad too! Can’t wait to stick it to the man one day! Walk out of the grey cubicle, a middle finger up and a plane ticket in the other hand 👌🛫

  2. I can’t believe I somehow overlooked this post; it’s brilliant! I’m welcoming myself as a loyal member to your blog because your content rocks! I could use some f***-you money, fulfill my corporate fantasy of walking out mid-middle morning meeting 😉 Suck it corporate overlords.

Leave a Reply

