5 Frugal Food Things

We’re a week into March and so far and I’m determined to tackle my biggest expense – Enter Miss Piggy v Take-Away, Round 1.

4221396001_4615821359001_4615801326001-vs.jpg

Here are 5 things I’ve done since the beginning of March to cut down this major expense:

  1. Bought breakfast porridge sachets to keep at the office
    Having breakfast prepared at the office means I don’t need to worry about rushing around to get breakfast before heading to work. The sachets cost 75c each and I used the free milk in the kitchen for porridge and tea. Cheap cheap!
  2. Brought my lunch to work for the past week and a half except today (met up with a friend at lunch).
    As I’m always running late to work, having a stockpile of frozen meals which I can grab and microwave at work cuts down time and money in the morning. This week and last I had pre-made vegetarian Thai Green Curry, creamy chicken Laksa soup and leftover roast pumpkin and spinach salad for lunches. Note to self: don’t put 2 cans of beans and chickpeas into a salad – leads to awkward bowel movements in the office!
  3. Made dinner from existing groceries in the fridge and used up old vegetables.
    I made vegetable fritters from corn, zucchini, potatoes, onion and eggs which I already had in the fridge and paired these with crispy bacon. This made enough for 2 dinners and a lunch. Yum!
  4. Switched to healthy snacks
    Instead of chips and junk food for snacks, I’ve switched to healthier alternatives. I’ve become addicted to oven-baked, sea salt and olive oil kale chips ($2.50 for a large kale bunch) and seasonal fruit. I buy imperfect fruits which is much cheaper and the same quality, which is great given some fruit can be quite pricey. I also stock up on soft cheeses and crackers which is cheap at my supermarket – $3 for a quarter wheel of camembert – no one can complain about that!

    and last but not least….

  5. Kept walking past McDonalds
    At the end of a long day at work the first thing I want is a big cheesy burger, fries and popcorn chicken prepared and made by someone who isn’t me. Doesn’t help that I walk past two McDonalds on the way home. It takes a lot to remind myself that I need to eat what is in the fridge first, save money, and get fit – none are helped by buying a greasy $12 meal – and keep walking on.

 

Have you done anything frugal this week? Leave your comments below and don’t forget to subscribe!

 

xx Miss Piggy

 

 

Cover illustration by Blair Breitenstein

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Miss Piggy says:

    Thanks for the comment Turnipsforbreakfast. I bet your stomach is glad to move on to something other than curry! It IS a bit like masochism – cracking the whip on myself! Food is one of my great loves in life so my compromise to myself is that if I cook it myself then *hopefully* it will lead to better health and a happier wallet!

  2. Congrats on your successful frugality! Actually it sort of feels good – like masochism. I made a curry and ate it for three days this week…then I had stomach cramps and thought I’d better move on. But still…I think I did well!

Leave a Reply

